Hink for Ladies by MaeT











{March 12, 2009}   An ambitious undertaking…

dress

My frined Abbey and I will be geeking out this spring, attending LeakyCon 2009 – a Harry Potter convention being held in Boston in May.  While there, we will be attending the Ball so we’ve decided to both make dresses for it!  After much searching through Simplicity, Vogue, Butterick and McCalls I’ve finally found the PERFECT dress for the ball!  It’s Butterick 4571 from their costume collection.  My goal is to make it in Blue and Bronze for the Ravenclaw colors, as I claim myself to be in the Ravenclaw house.  I thought this dress would be perfect for it because 1) it’d be easy to work the 2 color scheme together and 2) it reminds me of the Grey Lady who is the Ravenclaw ghost in the books.

I’m going to have my friend Kate help me to do a bit of resizing of the pattern and to move the waistline up to an empire waist, as that is more flattering on me!

Wish me luck on this endevor!  Hancock is having a sale on special occasion fabrics right now, so I’m hoping to get it this weekend!  I’ll keep you all posted on my progress.  I may get some pics up of the dress Abbey will be making, too!

SewDucky says:

What a cute idea! Personally, we’re all Slytherins here, so pfft.

Can’t wait to see the dress!



meggomae says:

My friend Abbey is a Slytherin, so she’s doing her dress in Slytherin colors! 😀



[…] I thought I’d finally post up some pictures of the fabric I bought for my Harry Potter dress.  I’m doing Ravenclaw colors (blue and […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
